I had a bottle full of dreams…

I never believe the people who claim to have no regrets. I look at them and think, “What a load of bullpoo!” (being polite as I can be here). I will freely admit that I have (loads) of ’em.

“Bottle” is me at my most autobiographical. I wrote this song in all of about 10 minutes one night as part of a “songwriting challenge”. It’s what I would call a lament. I’d also say it’s one of the best things I’ve ever written, and certainly a personal favourite…definitely, simply, personal.

What have you filled your bottle with? Have you spilled your dreams out to stain your world the colour of “what if” and “I should’ve” and filled it up again with everything and anything else?

If, like me, you have a cracked and battered bottle, once full of dreams, now full of regrets, and you identify with the song (because, hey, I know I’m not alone out there), the album version is available to download all over the interwebz via CD Baby, i-Tunes, Amazon and Bandcamp, etc.

3 responses to “I had a bottle full of dreams…

  1. I feel like I can’t regret something in my life. I mean I do, certainly, but I’ve moved to a place where I’m happier for the lesson (and usually reminder to do, or not to do, something). I sort of have regrets, but I mostly have a great deal more life knowledge to apply to future steps on the path.

    And yes, it’s a great song. 🙂

  2. I used to say I had no regrets, because that’s what people wanted to hear. It hasn’t ever been true. I begin with regretting telling another child she couldn’t play with me in preschool. Apparently, our minds tuck away painful memories and transmute them to physical pain. Oh, Dearest Autumn, I fragmented my bottle and now will be putting the pieces back together. I am remembering all the pain and fighting through it. Please, stay with me in spirit!

Leave a Reply

