Escape Versus Freedom

image

I’m really trying to stay in the present and “enjoy” reality. But…it isn’t easy when reality sucks and I suck and everything in my soul cries out for escape. But, escape is a band-aid on a gaping wound. I need saving, healing, deliverance and freedom, yes. But escape is none of those things. Delving into and entertaining my flights of fancy are not the answer, I know, but…

I guess, the gaping wound/band-aid analogy isn’t quite right. It’s more like cancer and morphine: fantasy (escape), the pain-killer…for a while – momentarily, but not a lasting cure. And, as morphine is addictive…

Thus, today, in pain, while my heart prays for freedom, my soul (and body) longs for escape…and everything in me pleads, “No more pain.”

2 responses to “Escape Versus Freedom

  1. I want the pain to go away, only it can’t. All I can do is hope it’s true that pain shared is pain halved. That’s closer to freedom than the “numbing” that is what we all do.

  2. Pingback: Climb The Steps In Your Imagination | Forever Autumn

Leave a Reply

