Glass? What Glass?

Daily Prompt | The Glass asks us that old chestnut:

Is the glass half full, or half empty?

Well, after some thought, I’d say, it depends on the glass.

image

Take this glass here. This glass is half full of delightfully taste bud tantalising ginger beer. Mmmm, delicious and refreshing.

But, we’re not talking about literal glasses and what fills (or doesn’t fill) them; we’re talking about (sigh) life.

Perhaps I shouldn’t be writing about this when I’m depressed. But, the Daily Prompt prompted me. So, here I am.

I have an ex-boyfriend who used to say to me, “Autumn, your problem is that you always see the glass half empty.” My response always was, “What glass? There isn’t a glass!” I was being very cynical and negative, yes. But, I was also disappointed by his use of the tired and, in my opinion, incorrect analogy.

I know, I know. Hard to believe me being negative and opinionated. And, sarcastic.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. – Psalm 23:6

So, first of all, it isn’t a glass; it’s a cup. And, it isn’t half anything; it’s full and running over.

At times it (life, the cup) is full and running over with misery (like when the husband is ill and the kids are misbehaving and one realises their dreams are only fantasies and you are overwhelmed and drowning in the sucky-ness of life).

There are times (such as, when you are doing what you love, you have an appreciative audience and you feel as though there is yet hope; like when your husband gives you “that look” that defies logic because you know how time has ravaged you; moments when your kids make you laugh with their humour and warm your heart with their love) when the cup is full and runs over with wondrous delight.

Most of the time it’s a swirling, whirling, overflowing mix of the good and the bad together. But, it is never empty, and it is never half empty or half full. It may be full of emptiness sometimes, but it is not in the nature of life to be half anything.

That’s just the nature of the cup.

7 responses to “Glass? What Glass?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Glass | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Glass | Echoes and Whispers

  3. Pingback: The Glass | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  4. Pingback: It Depends What’s In The Glass (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Mine is half-full and I wish you the same | Daily Prompt: The Glass | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  6. Pingback: The Glass Is Half Empty | The Sexy Cynic

Leave a Reply

