Close your eyes and, then, you’ll be able to see…

wordsofautumn

In an interview when Adele was asked about her weight, she replied with:

“I don’t make music for eyes, I make music for ears.”

Amen, Sister. Exactamundo! That’s how I feel about it, too.

I am not here to look at, I am here to listen to.

Music is for listening to. The package it comes in shouldn’t matter in the least.


Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. However, appreciation of music is, thankfully, not only above, but also far beyond, the visual and the physical. Taste in music should never be influenced by personal taste in physical appearance. Music is spiritual in nature (at its core).

Close your eyes and, then, you will be able to see it.

“Well, Autumn”, you quip, “why then bother to make videos for your songs if you aren’t interested in engaging the visual?”

I never said that I wasn’t interested in engaging the visual: video can help to illustrate a song. But, I believe a good song (delivered by a good artist) doesn’t NEED a video to explain it. It should be able to tell its own story without the use of any pictures accept for the ones it inspires in the imagination of the listener. Video can be a good tool to help tell the story, but it shouldn’t be relied on soley to sell a song. And, it shouldn’t be used to show off the looks of the singer. If you just want to show off your politically correct body, become a model.

Music (and making music) is more important than the physical.

It is (so much) deeper.

So, good for Adele. What she said. Although, I would go just a bit further and say this:

I don’t make music for the eyes; I make music for the ears and for the heart.

One response to “Close your eyes and, then, you’ll be able to see…

  1. “The package it comes in shouldn’t matter in the least.” Maybe. But it does. In certain contexts. If it didn’t, artists would pay no attention to what they wore, lighting or any other visual aspect of a performance.

    I guess if you’re talking solely about listening to the music, I can agree. But, honestly – why does Adele get dressed up or wear makeup or do photo shoots or appear on her album covers? Why do you put photos on your web site or wear different clothes on stage to when rehearsing? Why do bands create elaborate theatrical shows with lights, effects and video?

    I think there’s a touch of less than complete honesty in Adele’s statement. I don’t know precisely what question she was asked about her weight but I think if it were me I’d either say I’m not happy with it or it doesn’t bother me and leave it at that. Would she sell more records or gig tickets if she was slimmer? I doubt it, because her voice is her strong point. For other artists, like it or not, in the pop world, it is a package thing and appearance influences success strongly. You might argue it makes their music shallow and you might be right. OTOH, consider a band like Queen. Freddie was not handsome but appearances made an awful lot of difference when seeing them on stage. I may be confusing music with performance, of course, but they do tend to be strongly linked.

    Even orchestras dress up to play their music!!

    I have waffled enough. Don’t usually say so much but in this case the sound-bite quote you gave just annoyed me and I just don’t think it’s true. If there’s a more general point about how women are judged by appearances, etc., then fine, but let’s not pretend music and appearance should be disconnected.

    End of rant 🙂

Leave a Reply

