The Beat Goes On (and this crazy journey called Life)

Today, I release my second album. It’s not only an event in the career of one singer/songwriter, it’s an important life event for me. This album is very different in a lot of ways to the first album.

What’s different? Well, this album has a more world-fusion and classical vibe rather than a mostly folky one (although, the folk still makes an appearance).  Also, there are some instrumental pieces (you are listening to one now) and even a drum chant! The djembe (that’s the drum) is new, too. My first album was a mix of secular and Christian. This album is…

...a collection of bits of my soul. It’s the fragments, the pieces – each song is a piece of what makes up me right now. It is very personal. At the same time, I think it will speak to many – especially my fellow one in four who suffer with depression and/or mental illness. But, really, this is an album for the everyman/woman, all of us who have known loss and understand pain and struggle on this journey we’re on. It’s for both the dreamers and the fed up. It has a distinctive meditative quality to it.  There are also a couple of love songs in there for the romantics among us, but there is nothing soppy here.  This is raw and revealing, it is both the highest hopes and the deepest despair of my heart. This is:

Image

Leave a Reply

