The Beginning and the End of Journey’s End

In 2006 my husband presented me with a poem he had written for me. It’s simplicity and beauty struck me immediately. So, also, did its inate singability. This was no poem, these were song lyrics longing to be sung. With no delay, I took his words and sat down at the piano. I didn’t have to search for it; the music was just there. A lot of times, as a songwriter, you try to write a song – and, that’s ok… you get some good stuff out of that. But, the best pieces come from songs that find you and choose you to write them. This was the case with Journey’s End.

I have often performed this song at live shows and it is the song I get the most requests for. I am certain that when I released my first album in 2012, quite a few people expected Journey’s End to, at the least, make an appearance on the album, if not be the title track thereof. But, no… it wasn’t the time and Gloriously Autumnal wasn’t the place.

In February of this year, I released my second album – a full length album entitled Expressions of the Songmistress. It’s a highly personal work. A labour of love for the art, a message for the hurt and hurting. Journey’s End could have found a home here (I could have stuck it in), but I’ve had other plans for this song for some time. Actually, I think the song itself has always had its own plans, you see.

Not without a good cause (or two)…

What do I give? What do I contribute? I sit, navel-gazing, wishful thinking that people would love and rave about my music. I have a handful of loyal fans, but it’s not like I can expect these people to shove my music in everyone’s face and demand that they listen and appreciate it. In the world’s eyes I am, well, if not a failure, I am certainly not a success.  I put up music to buy. It gets greatly ignored. Oh, a few listen, a few even acknowledge the talent, even fewer (those precious ones) buy it… but, I am far from having a successful, consistent career. I can’t do much for me, or for my family. Is it possible for me to do something for someone else?

Journey’s End is a song that lends itself to a message of love and charity. Of giving. Of being there for others when a friend is really needed. It’s about the support that comes from someone loving you, unconditionally, day in, day out, no matter what life throws at you, no matter how the road bends and twists – it’s about being there, all the way, to the end.

And so, if you download this single, I will be dividing the money bewteen two charities. First is The Center for Courageous Kids. This is a camp for children with terminal and life threatening diseases. They provide support for the families of these ill children while providing top health-care and – the most important thing of all – lots of fun for the children, filling what days they have with adventure and beauty and friendship. All the way, to journey’s end.

The second cause is very close to my heart and very close to my home. I want to donate money to my local community centre, the SRKCP, to run some very important music therapy groups. This funding will help buy instruments and equipment, affording us to run drum circles and other music events for the health and well-being of the community. It’s a way of me practically – rolling up my sleeves – giving back.

I hope these two awesome causes will touch your heart and you will download this single because you, too, want to do something you can do. For your gift, you receive a song, a beautiful song. And your gift can make a positive difference in the lives of a variety of people, insuring that these good works continue when they are so very needed. It’s such a win win win. The way the payment is set up on Bandcamp is that the track costs £1 or more. You can give however much more you wish to. All the proceeds will be divided between Courageous Kids and SRKCP.

I’d love people to download my music because they really dig my music. I have a little handful of people who do that, and it’s lovely. I wish it was more, but that doesn’t stop me for being grateful for what I have. Journey’s End may be the last thing I ever release for others to buy. I don’t know…  but, I do know, I want the legacy of this song to be about what the message of the song is about:

I will walk with you
With your hand in mine
Anywhere the road will take us

Be your company
Made of you and me
On this road
To journey’s end

I’ll be by your side
At the sound of my name
Anytime you choose to call me
I’ll be there for you
When you want me to
If you call
My heart will hear

I will sit with you
Ease your cares away
Any place you wish to send them

Be your honesty
Be your chance to breathe
All the way to journey’s end

I’ll be your honesty
Be your chance to breathe
All the way to journey’s end

I will walk with you
With your hand in mine
Anywhere the road will take us

Copyright ©James Leader & Autumn Dawn Leader

Listen, then click and give! It feels good to give.

One response to “The Beginning and the End of Journey’s End

  1. Pingback: Compulsions | Forever Autumn

Leave a Reply

