Meanwhile… (I sang live on the Beeb)

image

At short notice on Thursday, I was invited by the Brahma Kumaris Meditation Centre that I often provide music for, to come sing at their new large Leicester centre on Friday (yesterday). That really wouldn’t be that much short notice to me (I try to stay practiced up and prepared for musical opportunities) except that then I was told I’d be being covered by BBC Radio Leicester.

Normally, I’d have been running around like the proverbial chicken sans head, thinking, “OMG! RADIO. LIVE RADIO. LIVE POPULAR RADIO.” However, they’ve recently changed my meds from duloxetine to venlafaxine and I was more like, “Nice. About time. Eh, what should I wear to be on radio?” (an ironic, but serious, question).

My friend Vee came with me and played roadie. Before going live, the man from the station came to talk to me. I introduced myself by name and said I was a local artist from Loughborough. He replied, “Excellent! We champion local artists; you should send us some of your stuff.” I retorted with, “I have done. For years now. I’ve never heard back from anyone.” He said, “I’ll give you my details and email; send it to me.”

This was/is worth getting excited over. Still, the venlafaxine is holding me in check from getting my hopes too high. And, yet, the hopes are still there. He seemed genuine.

We went live, I was interviewed (being American came into it), and then asked to “give a burst” of a song, I “bursted” decently, he got my name wrong when it went back to him, but he corrected himself so no harm was done. Then, while the show went back to the studio, he handed me a piece of paper with his details on it. He handed me a shred of hope.

Here’s the link to the podcast of the show.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p024wyv4 Skip to 1:13:37 to listen to my interview and “burst”. Shame about the stupid noise my sustain pedal was making. But, other than that, I nailed it, was asked back to the centre to do more music for them, and made a contact at BBC Radio. Not bad for a day’s work.

4 responses to “Meanwhile… (I sang live on the Beeb)

Leave a Reply

