I Am Not A Failure…

image

I am a fish out of water.

We wouldn’t say that a fish was a failure for not being able to breathe air and deal with life out of the water.

For many years I have called myself a failure for my inability to deal with life. But, I’m not going to do that anymore. It’s not the fish’s fault that it can’t cope with life out of the water. It simply isn’t equipped to function in the air.

Of course, I hear you say, we would call the fish a failure who couldn’t breathe water and swim. You would say that I should be able to cope with life but, because I can’t, I’m a failure. And, perhaps you’re right. But, consider, you may not be. I may truly not belong in this world.

You can continue to call me a failure. I just won’t listen and won’t be calling myself a failure anymore. I know I don’t belong in this world and no matter how hard I try, like a gasping fish, to succeed at this life, it’s not going to happen. I’ve tried. And, you know, I haven’t been able to do it. I have not failed. I just haven’t been able to do it because I’m not equipped to.

Leave a Reply

